For the 2022 elections: Sp vs Bsp Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha Seat Equation knows who is stronger

On June 23, three Lok Sabha by-elections and seven seats in the country’s assembly will be held. Most of them are discussed in the seats of Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha of Uttar Pradesh. Both seats were at the expense of the Samajwadi party in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The head of the SP, Akhilesh Yadav, was elected by Azamgarh and Azam Khan was elected deputy by Rampur. Both had resigned their seats in Lok Sabha after winning the assembly elections.

Now, on the one hand, there is a challenge to the SP to win back both seats, while on the other hand, the ruling BJP is doing its best to win those seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has fielded its Azamgarh candidate, although it has decided not to run in the Rampur by-elections.

Now is it interesting to see who wins these by-elections? Will the SP be able to retain its seats or will the BJP be heavy? What do the figures for the two Lok Sabha constituencies say? Let us know …

Meet the first elections and the seats

On June 23, by-elections will be held for three Lok Sabha and seven seats in the assembly in the country. The three Lok Sabha seats for which by-elections are to be held are Azamgarh and Rampur in Uttar Pradesh, while Sangrur in Punjab. Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav won the election in Azamgarh in 2019. Veteran Muslim leader of the SP Azam Khan was the winner of Rampur. Similarly, Aam Aadmi Party leader Bhagwant Man Singh was elected deputy for the Sangrur headquarters in the Punjab. Man Singh is now the chief minister of Punjab, while Akhilesh Yadav and Azam Khan have joined the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly. As a result, all three seats were left vacant.

The seven seats in the assembly for which elections are to be held include Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar in Tripura. Apart from this, by-elections will also be held for Rajendra Nagar in Delhi, Mandari in Jharkhand and the seat of the Atmakur assembly in Andhra Pradesh. Therefore, the notification was issued on May 30 and until June 7 the application process has also been completed.

Who is running in the Azamgarh and Rampur elections?

The Bharatiya Janata Party has once again turned Bhojpuri star Dinesh Lal Yadav, alias Nirhua, as the candidate for the seat of Azamgarh of Purvanchal. At the same time, party leader Samajwadi Akhilesh Yadav has sent his cousin Dharmendra Yadav. Shah Alam, alias Guddu Jamali, is the BSP candidate.

BJP has given a ticket to Ghanshyam Lodhi of Rampur. Lodhi was once near Azam Khan. Before the 2022 assembly elections, he left the SP and joined the BJP. At the same time, SP has signed Asim Raza, close to Azam. The BSP has decided not to challenge the Rampur survey. At the same time, Congress has not fielded its candidate from both the Azamgarh and Rampur seats. In this situation, the direct competition for the Rampur seat is between BJP and SP.

Whose claim is the seat of the Azamgarh seat?

To find out, let’s first look at the results of the recent assembly elections. There are five seats in the assembly in the Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency. These include the assembly constituencies of Gopalpur, Sagdi, Mubarakpur, Azamgarh and Mehnagar. In the 2022 assembly elections, all seats were won by the SP candidates.

SP obtained about four thousand 36,000 votes in the five seats of the assembly. At the same time, the BJP candidates got about three lakh 30 thousand votes. That is, the SP got more than a lakh of votes compared to the BJP. However, the votes of both the SP and the BJP have decreased compared to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The SP votes reduced by about two thousand votes, while the BJP will suffer a loss of about 30 thousand votes in compared to 2019.

If we look at the Lok Sabha election figures held in 2019, the head of SP, Akhilesh Yadav, had won that seat. He defeated Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirhua of the BJP by more than 2.5 thousand votes. Akhilesh got more than 6 lakh 21 thousand votes. At the same time, Niharua was successful in getting more than three lakh 61 thousand votes.

What does the Azamgarh caste equation say?

The assembly seats of Mehnagar, Azamgarh Sadar, Mubarakpur, Sagdi and Gopalpur are under the seat of Azamgarh Lok Sabha. The seat of the Mehnagar assembly is reserved for the scheduled caste. There are more than a thousand Dalit voters here. Apart from that, there are more than 70,000 Yadav voters. The number of Rajbhar and Chauhan voters also exceeds 35,000. The number of Muslim voters in this seat is also more than 20,000.

The seat of Azamgarh Sadar has the maximum number of more than 75 thousand Yadav voters. The number of Dalit and Muslim voters is also approaching 60,000.

Mubarakpur is a Muslim-majority seat. Muslim voters here are more than 10 thousand lakh. At the same time, the number of Dalit voters is 78 thousand and the number of Yadav voters is approaching 61 thousand. BSP candidate Guddu Jamali had won the 2017 assembly elections from that seat.

Sagadi’s seat has more than 82,000 caste voters scheduled. At the same time, the number of Yadav voters also exceeds 55,000. Kurmi voters are over 40,000 and Muslim voters are also over 30,000. Gopalpur Yadav is the fifth seat under Azamgarh Lok Sabha. Here are more than 68 thousand Yadav voters. The number of Dalit voters also exceeds 53,000. At the same time, Muslim voters are also more than 42 thousand.

Leave a Comment